## Pakistan Tobacco Board (Amendment) Bill 2005

The National Assembly's Standing Committee on Commerce unanimously approved the draft seeking amendments in the Pakistan Tobacco Board Ordinance, 1968, and tobacco growers' representation in the board on September 29, 2005.

The Ministry of Commerce has reconstituted the 16-member Pakistan Tobacco Board with the aim to promote the tobacco sector as well as the growers and revenue.

## Notification

The ministry has notified the names of the board members, keeping in view the recommendations of all stakeholders.

The ministry has issued a notification recently stating that in exercise of powers conferred under subsections (1) and (2) of section 3 of the Pakistan Tobacco Board Ordinance, 1968, and in suppression of all its notifications on the subject, the federal government is pleased to constitute the Pakistan Tobacco Board consisting of members from the public and private sectors. Shahibzada Riaz Noor has been appointed chairman of the Pakistan Tobacco Board. His nomination was based on the recommendation of the federal government.

The other members include: Shahid Ahmad Khan, Member, General Body, FPCCI, and Executive Director Lakson Tobacco Co. Karachi, on the recommendation of the FPCCI Karachi; Asif Khan, head of Leaf Department Pakistan, on the recommendation of the Cigarette Manufacturers Association Karachi; Malik Muhammad Ishaq, s/o Malik Abdul Hameed, 52/2,L, Okara, on the recommendation of the Government of Punjab; Mukhtar Ahmad s/o Nazir Ahmad, Raila Tehsil Phalia, District Mandi Bahauddin on the recommendation of the Government of Punjab; Taufeeque Muhammad Khan, s/o Muhammad Khan Subedar Killi, P/O Pir Abad, Tehsil & District, Mardan, on the recommendation of the Government of the NWFP; Haji Rustam Khan, s/o Juma Khan, Baffa Mira, Mansehra, on the recommendation of the Government of the NWFP; Fazale Elahi Khsan, s/o Fazal Ihsan, village Nabi, Tehsil Lahor, Swabi district, on the recommendation of the Government of the NWFP; Mian Muhammad Shafi, Tobacco Research Station, Sahiwal, on the recommendation of the Government of Punjab; a representative of the Government of Sindh (nomination awaited) on the recommendation of the Government of Sindh; Director General, Agriculture (Extension), NWFP, Peshawar, on the recommendation of the Government of the NWFP; a representative of the Government of Balochistan (nomination awaited) on the recommendation of the Gover-nment of Balochistan; Maher Sher Mohammad, Deputy Secretary (P-11), Ministry of Industries, Production & Special Initiatives, Islamabad, on the recommendation of the federal government; deputy secretary (export) on the recommendation of the federal government; and the commissioner of the Special Crop, Ministry of Food Agri-culture & Livestock, on the recommendation of the federal government.